Due to its wooden architecture, Pakruojis, like many Lithuanian towns and cities, were frequently ravaged by fires. For this reason, a fire brigade association was founded in Pakruojis at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1928, with the increase of fire-fighting resources, a fire station was built to store the existing inventory, also a room for the officer on duty was established; a water reservoir was dug next to the building. At this time, the hall of the building (also called “Civic Hall”) was used for the needs of the town community – for meetings, parties, entertainment, concerts, plays, and movies, there was also a buffet. Once, during a film screening, the band caught fire, so from then on, the fireman on duty appeared. Before World War II a hand-operated siren was installed. The hall was lit with cottage lamps, and later with electricity supplied by Pakruojis Manor. Since 1934, electricity was supplied by a mill owned by local businessman Maizeliai. During the Soviet period, the layout of the building was changed and the community hall was converted into a garage. In 1995, the building was closed after the construction of a new fire station. Today you can see the inscription in Lithuanian on the façade of the building, commemorating the era “Pakruojis Fire Brigade Society Building”. The uniqueness of the building is also indicated by the fact that a copy of the firemen’s association building is in the Lithuanian Folk Museum in Rumšiškės.
For a long time, the fire station building was abandoned. Finally, in the fall of 2019, the old fire station was reconstructed into a cultural place, along with the renovation of Freedom Square around the building. The unique building was demolished, leaving only one authentic wall. There is also a memorial room for the famous avant-garde artist, painter, stained glass artist, and puppeteer Stasys Ušinskas (1905–1975).