During interwar period Žagarė was famous not only its scientists, artists and political figures – in the city economic life was also vibrant. Seven mills operated in Žagarė during the interwar period. One of them was the modern, motorized mill of Mozė Strulis. Its function was important at that time ‒ it provided electricity for the whole town of Žagarė, admittedly, not around the clock, but only until midnight. On the ground and the first floors, grains were ground for flour and animal feed, various groats were made, and near the boiler facility there was a building for dyeing fabric and felting wool. The Struliai brothers bought the mill from the New Žagarė manor in the 30s. Local people remember that the brothers had money for an expensive purchase, because after The October revolution in 1917, they returned from Russia to Žagarė rich in diamonds. The mill was a huge red brick building. Three masonry arches and sluices were used to regulate the water level in the pond. In 1931 a critical article about the “Venice of Žagarė” appeared in the local press. The article stated that when the nearby dam was closed, the streets near the mill became like the canals of Venice. The mill caught flame during the winter fire of 1948 and was severely damaged. In 1968 the structure of the mill was finally destroyed, and only a part of the main mill building has survived to the present day.