The Joniškis synagogue complex is a unique two brick synagogues complex from 19th century. This complex of synagogues was not only restored, but also adapted for public purposes. It is believed that the 2nd half of 18th century the first Jews settled in Joniškis.
The city authorities allowed Jews to trade in the city market and in the suburbs, thus the Jewish community grew rapidly. In 1797 they were allowed to build a synagogue and a plot was allocated for a cemetery. The so-called White Synagogue was built in 1823, and it harmoniously intertwines a combination of different architectural styles – late classicism and romanticism are complemented by baroque splendour – it is not for nothing that it is constantly called the Beautiful Synagogue. Impressive in both beauty and size, this synagogue was the pride of the Jewish community of the region solemn services were held there, the best cantors and chazans regularly visited, who were fascinated by the old musical instruments painted on the walls of the synagogue. This large and spacious synagogue was unheated, so it functioned only in the warm season, and in winter the community gathered in a smaller heated synagogue nearby. The latter, the Red Synagogue, built in 1865, got its name from its unplastered red brick facade.
During the Soviet era, the original layout and exterior decoration of both synagogues were destroyed, they were equipped with warehouses and a gym. Currently, the synagogue complex has been restored, belongs to the Joniškis Region Museum and is used for public purposes. They host various events, concerts, and lectures dedicated to the presentation and preservation of Jewish culture and its heritage.